‘This’ Will Revolutionize Education – A Thoughtful Video

On a Friday afternoon, this article caught my attention so much that I had to watch the video right away.

The link to the Washington Post article about the video is here.

You can link directly to the video itself here.

Aviary Photo_130628886082580741

 

For me, the take-away, thought-provoking ideas from the video are:

“I think the reason technology hasn’t revolutionized education is something… that goes to the very heart of what education is. … It doesn’t matter what happens around the learner. We are not limited by the experiences we can give to students. What limits learning is what can happen inside the student’s head. That is where the important part of learning takes place.

So really the question is, “What experiences promote the kind of thinking that is required for learning?” Recently that research is being conducted and we are learning some pretty important stuff.

The fundamental role of a teacher is not to deliver information. It is guide the social process of learning. The job of a teacher is to inspire, to challenge, to excite their students to want to learn. Yes, they also do explain and demonstrate and show things, but fundamentally that is beside the point. The most important thing a teacher does is make every student feel like they are important, to make them feel accountable for doing the work of learning.

The foundation of education is still based on the social interaction between teacher and students. For as transformative as each new technology seems to be, like motion pictures or computers or Smart Boards, what really matters is what happens inside the learner’s head. And making a learner think seems best achieved  in a social environment with other learners and a caring teacher.”

Based upon this, some of the questions I have to ask myself as a 21st century educator are:

  • How do I choose technological tools?  Do I pick ones that make my content more engaging/entertaining for students?  Do I select tools that will ‘promote the kind of thinking that is required for learning?’
  • In my classroom, how well am I doing with the ‘social interaction’ between me and my students?  How do I evaluate how effective I am at fostering this?
  • Today, this week, this month, this school year – Did I make each of my students feel like he or she is important?  Did I make each feel accountable for doing the work of learning?

What are your thoughts on this video?

What questions does it lead you to ask yourself as an education professional?

Edutopia’s Top 10 Articles for 2014

It’s time for another year-end list – this one from Edutopia.  It provides an interesting snapshot into the topics that educators found most pertinent this year.

Edutopia’s Top 10 for 2014

  1. 6 Scaffolding Strategies to Use With Your Students
  2. 7 Apps for Teaching Children Coding Skills
  3. Dipsticks: Efficient Ways to Check for Understanding
  4. 30 Techniques to Quiet a Noisy Class
  5. 8 Myths that Undermine Educational Effectiveness
  6. Doing it Differently: Tips for Teaching Vocabulary
  7. 10 Steps for Avoiding Teacher Burnout
  8. 8 Tips and Tricks to Redesign Your Classroom
  9. What I Wish I’d Known as a New Teacher
  10. Classroom Management: The Intervention Two-Step