New Star Wars VII Trailer Fun

Late last week I received an urgent phone call at about 3:30pm from my 13 1/2 year-old son.  Breathlessly he said, “Dad, the new Star Wars trailer is on-line.  Ya gotta see it.  It’s AWESOME!”  [As of publishing this, it has over 36,000,000 views in three days]

 

I was 7 years-old when the first Star Wars movie was released on May 25, 1977.  I clearly remember the lines around the outside of the movie theater when I first saw it a few weeks after its release.  Needless to say, I was blown away by how mind bogglingly cool it was.  My best friend Derek and I acted out roles in Star Wars all summer while we collected the action figures and trading cards.

The funny thing is that I distinctly remember seeing the trailer for it a few months before its release.  I still remember today how odd the droids, storm troopers, space ships and big bear-like thing (later I learned it was a wookie)  This trailer looks positively antiquated by today’s standards.  And it doesn’t use any of what is most likely the best movie theme song of all time!

 

I was engrossed and thrilled by the new trailer for the movie premiering on my daughter’s 12th birthday – December 18, 2015.  Apparently many others were too.  So excited that someone created this fantastic mash-up of Mathew McConaughey watching the trailer [6,000,000 views at publishing]

 

OK, so this post really doesn’t have anything to do with technology and/or education.  The new Star Wars film is so personally and culturally monumental that I couldn’t resist dorking out and embracing my inner dork (which I don’t think I do enough). So please forgive my indulgence.

And BTW, the image at the top is from this article on Open Culture.

And these two images are priceless:

Star Wars 1

Star Wars 2

Strange…Chewy hasn’t aged a day!

One thought on “New Star Wars VII Trailer Fun

Leave a Reply

