Back to School With Vintage “Calvin and Hobbes”

Calvin and Hobbes-1

Today was Back to School Day for my son and daughter.  After an anxious and restless night for all of us, it was the earliest morning we’ve seen around here for a couple of months.  Once the kids were launched (and I went back to sleep as it’s still summer where I teach), I checked my email and smiled upon discovering a link to a collection of vintage “Calvin and Hobbes” comics with a back to school theme.

Here’s a couple of my favorites:

Calvin and Hobbes-2

 

Calvin and Hobbes - 3

 

I’ve been feeling nostalgic lately about 1980’s comics as Berkeley Breathed is publishing brand new “Bloom County” strips on his facebook page.  There’s speculation that Donald Trump’s presidential bid spurred Breathed’s return.  Note the circa mid-1980’s Bloom County and Bloom County 2015:

Bloom County - 2

Bloom County - 1

And don’t get me started with my nostalgia around the Vacation reboot and my sadness at it’s poor reviews (Rotten Tomatoes – 25%) Ouch!

One thought on “Back to School With Vintage “Calvin and Hobbes”

Leave a Reply

