Sun(Fun) Day Night – Colbert, Star Wars & the Vatican

Just as I resumed the Friday FunLink a couple of days ago,  I’m getting back to this feature as well.

Last week, I had much work to do for my return to teaching last Monday. Sorry to say, Dear Reader, posting here was not at the top of my HabitRPG “To-Do” list.

A week later, it’s a different story. On Friday, during an assembly celebrating the clinching of the Ohio Division IV HS Football State Championship by our team, our bishop granted us a day off of school tomorrow. So, it’s not a pre-school Sunday afternoon for me and I don’t have grading, lesson planning, creating of presentations/assignments, etc. to do for tomorrow. And why do today what I can put off until my day off?

Incidentally, if you’d like to see photos of our celebratory assembly, check out #earned over at Twitter.

Last week was not only the return from vacation for most teachers but also the return of Stephen Colbert to “The Late Show…” Before I continue with this post, I need to be clear about one thing – I will not turn this blog into a fanboy site committed to lauding Mr. Colbert. Although I greatly like and respect Colbert’s work, place him on my list of Top Ten Current Catholic Heroes,” and have watched (with the exception of last Thursday and Friday) every episode of his “The Late Show…” I will keep this blog (more or less) focused on topics and themes of interest to Catholic school teachers – especially those of us who teach Religion.

That being said, here’s a funny, brief clip from last week which combines four of my favorite things – the aforementioned Colbert, Star Wars, Catholicism, and humor. Enjoy and may this bring a smile to your face on this early January Sunday!

Leave a Reply

