Sun(Fun)day Night Post – Do You Have a Buddy Bench?

It’s a bit late on this Sunday night, so I have to keep this brief. While I was looking through my digital edition of the Washington Post over breakfast this morning, I came across this article which made me smile: Kids Don’t Have to Be Lonely at Recess Anymore Thanks to This Little Boy and His ‘Buddy Bench.’

I’m not an elementary school teacher, so I don’t know if this concept and these objects have widely caught on in the U.S.A. This was the first time I’ve heard about this myself. Do forgive me if this is widely known and I’m just a “johnny-come-lately” with it.

The concept is simple – it’s a bench where a student can go and sit during recess if he or she feels lonely and unable to connect with others. Children are coached to pay attention to the bench and, if a kid is sitting there by himself or herself, go over and invite him or her to join a group and participate.

The boy pictured above is credited with bringing this simple, yet powerful concept to the U.S. According to the article, he and his family were planning on moving to Germany and he was worried that he’d feel alone at a new school. When he toured a possible school for him, he was reassured when he noticed the “buddy bench” in their recess area. While his family didn’t move overseas, he has been able to help create this place of hospitality at many schools around the U.S.

It’s a great idea and it seems to be catching on. A Google Search brings up all kinds of images of “buddy benches.” Here’s a few of my favorite ones:

So does your school or workplace have a “buddy bench” – a place for one to go in order to show that he or she feels lonely or disconnected? And does your school or workplace have a strong enough culture of hospitality that kids or adults would invite the “buddy bench” sitter off of the seat and into the group?

Leave a Reply

