Introducing: Saint O’the Day -St. Bartholomew (Aug. 24th)

I’m excited to begin SY 2016-2017 tomorrow. And tonight, I’m excited to start a new feature.

Sharing about and praying with the Saint of the Day is the meaningful way I begin my Religion classes. While I’ve done this informally in years past, I’m planning on being more formal and consistent with this.

So, I’m creating a brief presentation each day for my students based on the Saint of the Day. And, I’m planning on sharing these here with you, dear reader.

A few things to note:

+ I’m using the list found at American Catholic’s Saint of the Day site. This list mostly correlates to the feast day list found in the lectionary. But, I’ve noticed that they sometimes shift the dates slightly (especially if two key saints share a feast day). So, while other calendars may show a certain saint on a date, I’m following this list.

+ I will shift dates slightly if a particularly important saint’s day falls on a weekend or non school day. I’m doing that this week by praying with Sts. Monica and Augustine on Friday as their actual dates are Sat and Sun the 27th and 28th this year. I will generally try to shift a Saturday to the Friday before it or a Sunday to the Monday after it.

+ I will post a link to a PDF at least the night before the feast day. If you’d like me to also post a link to the source Google Slides (so you can edit and customize), let me know.

+ Like everything in life, I’m taking this project one day at a time. It’s a big endeavour, but one that I think it worth it. Please pray for me and pray for all of us as we begin this new school year!

Wednesday, August 24, 2016 – St. Bartholomew the Apostle.

PDF Presentation

 

4 thoughts on “Introducing: Saint O’the Day -St. Bartholomew (Aug. 24th)

Leave a Reply

